Requiem for Small Things

Fly
Balanced on fragile legs
Your presence is a crime
A life to be carelessly extinguished

Nobody covers their body in blood for you
Few admire your intricacy
But you are not bound by gravity
Like me

~ by David Heslin on 18/03/2010.

One Response to “Requiem for Small Things”

  1. I used to love small animals as a child, particularly insects. Not only did I find flies beautiful, I felt that the act of killing them for no reason was abhorrent. Although I am no longer quite the gung-ho future animal rights activist that I was as a ten year old, observing a fly crawl over a cafe table at university brought back memories. I wrote this two stanza mini-poem while I sat and ate.

    I’m no William Blake, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

 
