Prometheus

Callously crag-bound, tormented and kept
My Demi-God stays, in permanent dread
His beauty no solace, nor entreaties wept
I barely recall him now

Sophisticated madness, brilliance bound
He opened my eyes, as his now remain
For that he is punished, on some lonely mound
His arrogance his downfall

Prometheus-God, Lucifer fallen
He who I adored, alchemic master
Father of science, of love for his children
I owe him all that I see

(But there were other gods
So jealously wary
Of the primitive hordes
Growing great in number)

It was he who authored this terrible crime
Granting me the means to strengthen my arm
His punishment was made an indefinite time
Held in hell, away from me

His captors linger on, albeit smaller
Now powerless amusements, they cower
Subject to my whims, in trees and in water
Their empire long since eclipsed

Yet, lingering still, tormented and kept
My Demi-God stays, in permanent dread
To cry out to no-one; for him, I once wept
I barely recall him now

~ by David Heslin on 08/03/2011.

One Response to “Prometheus”

  1. I started studying poetry in 2011, and one of our first tasks was to find a poet we liked and try to replicate their style. This poem draws on a bit of Baudelaire, but is more indebted to Edgar Allen Poe’s famous essay “The Philosophy of Composition”.

    I chose the subject of Prometheus because the story (specifically, the Aeschylus play) forms a central part of one of my favourite films, Jacques Rivette’s rather obscure 12-hour long epic “Out 1”. I guess I’ve always been fascinated by Greek mythology, and the Prometheus story is one of the most memorably gruesome ones.

    In many ways, this is a poem about Julian Assange or Wikileaks, although perhaps in a slightly tongue-in-cheek manner. Perhaps, more accurately, this is the poem Assange would write about himself if he got the chance.

Leave a Reply

 
